Half Marathon Training – Day 50

Good evening everyone! Last week, I noted that I was crazy for running a 5K race in the morning and running 11 miles in the afternoon.  Well, I graduated to REAL CRAZY because I ran my first 10K race this morning and ran 12 miles in the evening.

Even though I ran 6.2 miles this morning, I still wanted to get my mileage in for my half marathon training.  I thought I was going to run solo but one of my friends who missed the 6 am group decided to run with me.  I appreciated his company because it seemed to make the run go by faster.  Before starting my run, my goal was to FINISH the distance; I didn’t care what my pace was.  Since I pushed myself to get my 10K time in under an hour, I didn’t want to over do it on the 12 mile run and possibly injure myself.  The temperature was 80 degrees, so I wore my Amphipod waist pack with two 8 oz water bottles.  For the first time, I carried some pretzel sticks to munch on from time to time.

Well, we did it.  We completed a 12 mile run, which is the longest distance and duration to date.  I have to admit, my feet were sore but now feel better since I am soaking them in some Epson Salt.  Well at least this will be the farthest we will go during the remainder of our training; the longest distance we will run before race day is no more than 8 miles.

Well that’s about it.  I am going to relax tomorrow and do a walk on Monday for my cross training.  Thanks for reading and enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Troy

Screenshot_2014-03-22-20-29-17

5 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training – Day 50

  1. Awesome job!!!! You’re a champion!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

