Categories
5K Races 5K/10K Challenge - Fall 2014 I Run 4 Marathon Training Run For God Specialty Races

RnR Savannah Marathon Training Week 11: 9/15/2014 – 9/21/2014

Monday

Today was a very special day.  Hunter, my I Run 4 running buddy, turned 17 today.  To celebrate, I literally went the extra mile for him.

Planned: Rest Day
Actual:  17 mile run (13:25 pace)

Tuesday

The Fall 2014 Run for God 5 and 10K Challenge started today. Being a graduate of the Run for God 5K and Half Marathon Challenge, I was asked to help lead the 10K group runs.  Tonight’s workout consisted of a 1.5 mile fast tempo run.  It was kind of funny because after we were finished I said, “That’s it? I am used to running 3-8 miles!”  All kidding aside, it’s great to help motivate and encourage other runners.  After class, I went ahead and knocked out 4 fast tempo “recovery miles”.  Again, I surprised myself with a fast pace considering that I ran 17 miles the day prior.

Planned: 3 mile run
Actual: 1.5 mile run (8:55 pace) and 4 mile run (9:31 pace)

Wednesday  

I really wanted to run 8 miles but since I didn’t take a rest day on Monday, I went ahead took today off from training.  The last thing I want to do is be out of commission.

Planned: 8 mile run
Actual: Rest Day

Thursday 

I knocked out a 4 mile feel good run before I met up with the Run for God group run.  I started at a slow pace however since I felt good, I picked up the pace a bit.  During the group run, I ran with the instructor’s son who is training for the 10K race in December.  Also used the time to encourage and motivate other runners.

Planned: 4 mile run
Actual: 4 mile run (9:46 pace) and 2 mile run (10:34 pace)

Friday

Planned: Rest Day
Actual: Rest Day 

Saturday

In the morning, I met up with some friends to run (more like jog/walk) in the 2014 Macon Run or Dye Color Run.  It was suppose to be held in March of this year however it got delayed for scheduling conflicts.  I even ran the race in a tutu! Yes, I was that brave but the way I look at it, you have to enjoy life to the fullest.  I really didn’t get dyed much during the run however I got drenched during the color festival. Later on in the day, I did an 8 mile easy slow run on the base.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Planned: Cross Training
Actual: 5K fun run (mileage was less) and 8 mile run (10:09 pace)

Sunday

Kicked off the last day of summer with an early morning 15 mile bike ride around Robins Air Force Base.  The weather was beautiful was a cool morning temperature of 60 degrees.  Great way to end week 11!

Planned miles for Week 11: 32
Actual miles for Week 11: 40 

7 weeks to Rock n Roll Savannah! 

Have a great week!

Troy

Leave a comment