My First 5K Race in 14 Months

I am currently training for my 7th Half Marathon: The Hotlanta Half on June 11.  This will be my first half marathon in 18 months and I am very excited. My goal is to finish the race; if I end up with a PR, I will consider it a bonus.

I am about to finish Week 6 of Hal Higdon’s Half Marathon Training Plan.  Saturday’s are normally long slow runs, however, today’s workout called for a 5K race.  There were several races to choose from in my area so I chose to run in the Quail Run Elementary Cub Crawl 5K.  Going in, my goal was to finish the race in the fastest time possible.  I already knew I wasn’t going to bust my PR (23:57) since I hadn’t ran a 5K race since February 2016. If I ended up placing in my age group, I would have considered that a bonus.

When the race started, I was in the leading pack.  I just ran at a comfortable but fast pace.  It’s funny on how on race day, your adrenaline kicks in and you run faster than on a training run.  I passed a couple of guys after mile 1 however after mile 2 I noticed one of them catching up to me so I pushed myself a little more.  25 minutes and 45 seconds later I crossed the finished line.  This is the fasted 5K I ran since December 2015 and my 11th fastest overall.  After I filled out my card with my info and time, I dropped it in the 41-50 male age group box (that’s an odd age group).  I noticed that my card was the first to go in.

After the race, the winners were announced.  I ended up taking 1st place in my age group.  The funny thing is I was the ONLY male in my age group. I could have ran slow and still placed.

All kidding aside, I am glad on what I accomplished today.  I ran my fastest 5K in a while plus I placed in my respective age group.  I look forward to running in more 5Ks and hopefully set a new 5K PR in the near future. Thanks for reading and have a great night!

Screenshot_20170429-105307

 

 

Leave a Reply

