My First Double Digit Run in 17 Months

Hello! I hope everyone has had a fantastic week.  Today, I am celebrating my 42nd birthday.  Nothing special planned; I took the day off from work and my wife and I are planning to meet some friends for dinner and watch Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 2.

Since I am working this weekend, I decided to do my long slow run early this morning. My training plan called for a 7 mile run, however, I wanted to challenge myself.  I set a goal of 10 miles.

It was a rather cool morning; the temperature was 52 degrees with a little wind. In my opinion, perfect running weather for the South and preferable to running in the heat.  My route was relatively flat with some hills especially a 1/2 mile at the beginning of my route.  I ran at a comfortable pace.  5 miles out and back.  By the time I got to my car, I looked at my pace (I normally don’t pay attention to how fast I am going on my run). 9:13 a mile.  9:13 a mile??? Are you kidding me??? I ran faster than my other runs earlier in the that were half the distance? I am on Week 7 after not running on a regular basis for over a year and I just did this? Am I in an alternate reality?  Did my Garmin malfunction?

As you can tell, I am shocked.  I was about 30 seconds slower than my half marathon PR from 2 years ago. For comparison, my first half marathon pace from April 2014 was 9:50 per mile and that was after 11 weeks of training in addition to completing a Run For God 5K class prior.  Honestly, I didn’t think I was going that fast. Here are my mileage splits:

 

Screenshot_20170505-163352

Another funny thing is that I ran slower going down a half mile hill at the beginning but ran faster going UP it on the return trip.

I am very proud of what I accomplished today.  Watching some of my friends in my local Run For God running group pushing themselves has inspired me to do the same.   I know I will be ready for my 7th half marathon next month. Thanks for reading and have a great weekend everyone! Happy Running 😉

Screenshot_20170505-083025

Leave a Reply

