Lt Col Melvin T. Ingram Memorial 5K Run Recap

Hello fellow runners! Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend especially those in the United States that are celebrating Memorial Day.  I just completed my 3rd 5K race for 2017: The Lt Col Melvin T. Ingram Memorial 5K Run.  The purpose of the race was to honor him and his brother, Willie Ingram Jr.  They both passed away due to a heart attack and stroke respectively.  In addition, proceeds go to a scholarship fund in their names and the race raises the awareness of heart disease.  (More info available at http://www.meltingram.com/)

I wasn’t planning on racing this weekend, however, one of my running buddies from my running group encouraged me to participate.  I am currently training for my 7th half marathon so I had to do the “training plan shuffle” to accommodate this race.

The race was held in Milledgeville, GA about an hour from Warner Robins on the campus of the now closed Central State Hospital, an old mental institution.  Prior to the start of the race, I was asked to give the invocation.  I’ll admit, I was a little nervous however everyone thought it was a good prayer.  I was honored and humbled for the opportunity.

After the invocation, the race began.  The first mile was relatively easy – because it was all downhill.  After that, it was all uphill.  I have been running for 3.5 years and the one thing I have learned was to train on hills at least once a week.  I could tell my training paid off because I was passing people on the hills who were struggling.  After mile 2, I felt like I was running out of gas but I kept on going.  The last quarter mile was on a hill; I felt tired after the final climb that I didn’t sprint to the finish line like I normally do. Here is the elevation chart of the course:

Screenshot_20170527-085307

After I finished, I filled out my race results and went back on the course to get a couple my friends back to the finish line.

received_10154394016502047

After the last runner came through, the awards ceremony began.  My time was 25:01 and I placed first in my age group (40-44).  This was my third 5K race for 2017 and managed to place in all 3.  While I didn’t set a 5K PR, today was the fastest 5K I ran for the year (8:15 pace).  Out of the 90 runners that ran in the race, I was 9th overall. Considering that I started back running 10 weeks ago , I am very pleased let alone shocked on how much I have accomplished in such a short period of time.

After the race, I joined some friends to eat at one of the local eateries called The Local Yokel Cafe.  Considering I placed first in my age group, I believed I earned my Steak and Eggs! The food was delicious and the fellowship was great.  I also had an opportunity to meet another runner who will also be running the Hotlanta Half in a couple of weeks.  I look forward to meeting up with him and his family and I think it’s cool that others from Middle Georgia will also be running in this race.

Today was a good day and I am seeing that my half marathon training is paying off. I met up with old running friends and made new ones. When I come to race, my goal is to finish. My primary competition is myself.  If I happen to place in my age group, I consider it a bonus.

Well that’s about it.  Sunday is going to be rest day and I am hooking up with some runners on Memorial Day to do something special honoring those that have paid the ultimate price.  Until then take care and happy running!

4 thoughts on “Lt Col Melvin T. Ingram Memorial 5K Run Recap

  1. Awesome job on a hilly race and congrats on 1st in age group!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Hotlanta Half Marathon Training Week 10: 5/22/17 – 5/28/17 – Run with Troy 2.0

  3. Pingback: Hotlanta Half Marathon 2017 Recap – Run with Troy 2.0

  4. Pingback: Papa’s Peach Classic 5K Recap – Run with Troy 2.0

Leave a Reply

