Memorial Day 2017 5K Run

A couple of years ago I participated in a Memorial Day run that honored the American men and women that paid the ultimate price defending the nation and what it represents.  I wanted to do something similar this year so I invited members from my local Run For God running group to join me in this special event.

While I was driving to our meeting place, I listened to the song “God Bless the USA” by Bruce Greenwood.  It’s one of my favorite patriotic songs and it brings tears to my eyes everytime I listen to it. When I arrived at the meeting place, I noticed another running group was also doing the same thing which I thought was very cool.

After a word of prayer, we started running along a major highway that has nice wide sidewalks.  Two years ago, I ran holding the American Flag and I was honored to run with it again this year.  It’s not easy to run with it but I managed.  Even though I wasn’t expecting it, many drivers honked their horns as they drove by.

I thought we had a great turnout. One of my buddies even brought along several of his family members to run with us. Despite the morning heat, everyone did an outstanding job. Hopefully, we can make this an annual event.

Did you do anything special for Memorial Day?  Shout it out in the comments.  Thanks for reading and have a great week!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a Reply

