Macon Labor Day 10K 2017 Recap

Hello, everyone! Today, I am getting ready to head to Washington DC with my wife to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary.  Our original plan was to take a Western Carribean cruise, however, our cruise was canceled due to Hurricane Irma.  My thoughts and prayers are with those that have or will be affected.

This past Monday, my friends and I ran in the 41st Macon Labor Day Road Race 10K. This is the 3rd time I ran in this race.  I ran the 5K in 2013 and again in 2014 (pacing a fellow runner).  This is the first time I have run the 10K.  I wanted to do something different for a change and it’s been over 2 years since I raced in a 10K.

Before the race, I knew going in that it was going to be a tough course.  The first 4 miles had 3 hills to climb.  I was confident I was going to do well because I always train on a variety of hills at least once a week.  From experience, a majority of the races I have participated in had some type of hill(s).

At 8:30 am, the race started.  I tried to take in slow and easy sometimes trying to stay behind other runners to pace myself.  About .30 miles in, was the first hill challenge.  An upward hill climb approximately .54 miles long.  I just ran up it at a comfortable pace and didn’t even think about it.  The next 1.5 miles was downhill and relatively easy.  Then came hill number 2 which measured another .50 miles.  This is where I started to pass multiple runners that were obviously struggling.  The last major hill was at mile 4.25 which measured about .32 miles.  For some strange reason, it seemed longer than that especially when I came to the “crest” just to find out I had a little more to go till I got to the top.  Again, because of my hill training, I was able to pass other runners with no issues.  Screenshot_20170904-101135.png

The rest of the course was relatively easy because it was all downhill which was nice.  I ran at what I thought was a comfortable pace. I never looked at my watch to see how fast I was going as I tend to do worse when I do look at my Garmin.

Soon, I was at Central City Park on the final stretch.  Spectators and runners lined up the street cheering the runners on as we approached the finish line.  Soon, I saw the finish line and I hit the gas and sprinted as fast as I could.  After crossing the finish line, I grabbed some water to rehydrate. Here is an awesome photo that my wife took:

FB_IMG_1504552336571.jpgMy wife soon located me to congratulate me then I turned around to head back on the course to run my friends back to the finish line.  It was a tradition I started recently to help motivate and encourage my friends.

After accompanying the final runner in our group to the finish line, I wanted to see how I did.  It took me a while to find my name but when I found it I was in shock.  My time was 51:54 – a new 10K PR!! My previous 10K PR was 52:17 from July 4, 2015.  I couldn’t believe it.  I just PR’d on the toughest 10K course to date.  When I run in the race, I usually do not have a specific goal.  I just run it.  If I happen to PR or even place in my age group, I consider those bonuses.  Other stats: I placed 90 out 312 overall and 8 out of 20 in my age group. Here is how my splits looked:

Screenshot_20170904-161759.png

One final fact: When I ran the 5K in 2013, my pace was 9:45 a mile. This year, I ran twice the distance at 8:22 a mile!

After the race, we had lunch and fellowship at a local sandwich shop.

I am very proud of what I accomplished, however, I am more proud of my running group. They mentioned that they were glad we run hills once a week because they were better prepared for this race.  One commented that she was able to overtake some runners herself.  One placed 3rd in her age group.  Regardless if they were fast, slow, or had to walk parts of it, they did it.

Well, that’s about it for now.  Time to start packing for my trip.  I plan on getting some training runs in while in the DC area and even considering running in a 5K race.  Enjoy the rest of your week and happy running!

Troy

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

