Categories
10K/Half Marathon Challenge - 2014 Chick-Fil-A Connect Race Series Run For God

Half Marathon Training – Day 40

Good Thursday evening! Well, part of my cow costume for the Chick-Fil-A Half came in today.  Want to see it?  Read my blog post in 29 days! Trust me, I will be taking many pictures.  I tried it on today (in secret) and I look like a complete idiot..lol.

20140306_131520

The weather here in Middle Georgia has been very crazy for the past week.  We have had days where the temperatures were in the high 60s to days like today where it has been raining all day and the high was 40 degrees.  It could have been easy to make an excuse and postpone training but I was determined to get out and run.  I thought I was going to run solo but one of my Run for God classmates wanted to join me despite the weather.  The temperature felt like 29 degrees (even though it was 36) so i bundled up.  I wore my running pants, t-shirt, fleece, a jacket with a hood, ski cap, and gloves.  During our run, the rain got heavy at times.  I wear glasses and but this is one time I wished I had eye surgery to correct my vision because I had many droplets collecting on my lenses.  Even though I was bundled up, I really didn’t get that hot.  After we completed our workout, we was soaked.  My pants were wet, my feet were wet (ran into many puddles) and even my fleece under my outer jacket was damp. When I got home, I had to take a hot shower to warm up! However, we did it! I have run in the rain before (light drizzle) but this is the first time I have run in these type conditions.  Yes I am going to enjoy my rest day tomorrow!

Other than that, I got word that the Macon Run or Dye that I was suppose to participate in next Saturday got postponed.  No rescheduled date yet.  However, I did register for the Macon Mud Run on March 29.  Some of my Run For God classmates are participating in that event.  This is my first mud run and i am looking forward to getting dirty! It’s going to be a lot of fun!

That’s it for now.  Thanks for reading and happy running!

Troy

Screenshots_2014-03-06-19-22-59 Screenshots_2014-03-06-19-21-55

Leave a comment